h1

Hello, Bonjour, and Bienvenido!

July 3, 2009

My apologies as I appear to be bringing up the rear in terms of introductions, but better late than never I suppose.

Anyway, I’m Amy and I have been a practicing pagan for about ten years now. I work with Renee at Little Mysteries, and I’m one of the other founding members of the NSPA (Nova Scotia Pagan Alliance). I am very eclectic in my spiritual beliefs, incorporating little bits of everything from Wicca to Hinduism into my religious practice. It took me a while to get to where I am, but now that I’m here, I couldn’t be happier. Sure I can be lazy at times, and a bit unmotivated sometimes, but I’m only human.

Born and bred in Halifax (Nova Scotia), I grew up in a household that was very relaxed in every sense of the word. Nothing was pushed upon me, and I was encouraged to make my own decisions about things. Religion was something that was never really discussed, but it was always there. I went through elementary school thinking that Christianity was the only religion…I knew nothing about Islam, and I didn’t know much about Judaism either. I wasn’t even aware there were other religions outside of that, which I am a bit embarrassed to admit now. In Junior High that ignorance bubble got burst when a friend of mine introduced me to Wicca. I spent countless hours on the internet scouring through websites trying to soak up all the information I could through the computer screen. When I read the definition of Wicca from one of the first sites I found I couldn’t believe it. What I believed in was actually a religion? I was floored, but at the same time I knew that I had just stumbled upon something big. I was only 12 at the time.

Fast forward several years later and here I am.

I love living on the East Coast of Canada and I wouldn’t trade it in for a second. While I enjoy spending time in Manhattan and other cities around the world (I say world, yet the farthest I’ve been is London, England), if I were to move away I doubt I’d last any longer than 5 years. There is something about this place that draws me back. It could be the close proximity to the ocean, or it could be this weird and wacky climate that I have grown to love, but there is just something about Nova Scotia that is ‘home’ to me.

At the risk of writing a book and boring everyone to death with more information than you probably want to hear, I’m going to wrap this up now. If anyone has questions or comments, or wants to know a bit more about my background feel free to leave me a comment or send me a message…I’m always happy to hear from people!

~Amy

Leave a comment